Minutes of the Meeting of EACSL, 2009

Coimbra, September 10, 2009, 18:30-20:30


Andreas Abel, Isolde Adler, Mathias Baaz (PC Member CSL'09, Chair of the meeting), Ulrich Berger, Mark Bezem, Thierry Coquand, Anuj Dawar (PC Member CSL'09), Jose Espirito Santo, Marco Gaboardi, Herman Geuvers, Reinhard Kahle (PC Member CSL'09, Organizer CSL'09), Lukasz Kaiser, Stefan Kreutzer, Janos Makowsky (Board of EACSL, president), Simone Martini (PC Member CSL'09), Damian Niwinski (Board of EACSL, vice-president), Simona Ronchi della Rocca, Peter Schneider-Kamp, Thomas Schwentick (PC Member CSL'09), Johann Schwinghammer, Alex Simpson, Lutz Strassburger, Michael Ummels, Jonni Virtema, Helmut Veith (PC Member CSL'09)
  1. Confirmation of agenda.
    Approved by acclamation.
  2. Choice of chair of meeting.
    Proposal: M. Baaz (Vienna)
    Approved by acclamation.
  3. Choice of secretary (Minutes of the meeting)
    Proposal: U. Berger (Swansea).
    Approved by acclamation.
  4. Report on General Meeting 2008 and Accounting
  5. Changes of the board of EACSL:
    The Board of the Association consists of the President, the Vice-President and at least 7 but not more than 10 other members.

    Current members and duration of term.

    L. Beklemishev and B. Courcelle offered to free their seats prematurely now. D. Niwinski and J.A. Makowsky come to the end of their terms.
    The assembly thanked the parting members for their services on the board and the Jury.

    Election of new members: Proposed candidates: Reinhard Kahle (Lisbon, Portugal), Simona Ronchi della Rocca (Torino, Italy), Janos Makowsky (Haifa, Israel).
    Each candidate was voted separately. All three candidates were accepted unanimously.

    Election of president and vice-president for 2010-2014:

    Proposed candidates: President: Damian Niwinski. Vice-president: Anuj Dawar.
    Each candidate was voted separately. Both candidates were accepted unanimously.

    J.A. Makowsky reminds the old and new members of the board of the importance of showing interest and active participation in important issues such as publication.

  6. Jury of the Ackermann Award 2009

    The jury is appointed by the board.

    Comments and Discussion: J.A. Makowsky emphasized the importance of impartiality of the jury. As president of the EACSL he did not vote in this year's decision. He also pointed out that the success of the Ackermann Award is mainly due to the prestigeous jury and its good communication. The jury also was careful to avoid a candidate getting 2 prizes.

  7. Sponsorship of the Ackermann Award
    Comments and Discussion: The support by LOGITECH (which is running out) was acknowledged.

    Sponsorship by the Kurt Gödel Society:
    M. Baaz, vice president of the KGS, announced that future support for the AW will be provided by the KGS. The KGS will invite the winner (resp. one of the winners if there are two) to Vienna. Initially, support by the KGS will last for 3 years, but M. Baaz expects this to continue further.
    The assembly applauded M. Baaz and the Kurt Gödel Society for this.

  8. Report on CSL'09 presented by R. Kahle.

    The assembly thanked Reinhard Kahle and his colleagues for an excellent organization of CSL'09.

  9. CSL'10 (D. Niwinski): There was a short discussion about the conference fee which was considered too high by some.
  10. CSL'11, CSl'12 and CSL'13 : Discussion and call for of proposals.
  11. The current situation of EACSL (J.A. Makowsky)

  12. The future of EACSL

    No discussion was held due to the lack of time.

  13. Varia


At the end of the meeting the chairman, M. Baaz, thanked J.A. Makowsky for his excellent work for EACSL and pointed out that during his presidency the activities of EACSL increased dramatically. The assembly applauded J.A. Makowsky.

Signed: J.A. Makowsky and U. Berger