The Ackermann Award is the EACSL Outstanding Dissertation Award for Logic in Computer Science. It is presented during the annual conference of the EACSL (CSL’xx).

Since 2017, the Award is sponsored by the association Alumni der Informatik Dortmund e.V.
From 2010 to 2016, the Award has been sponsored by the Kurt Gödel Society.
For the three years 2007-2009, the Award was sponsored by Logitech, S.A., Romanel, Switzerland, the world’s leading provider of personal peripherals.

Submissions for the Ackermann Award 2017

Nominations are now invited for the 2017 Ackermann Award. PhD dissertations in topics specified by the EACSL and LICS conferences, which were formally accepted as PhD theses at a university or equivalent institution between 1.1.2015 and 31.12.2016 are eligible for nomination for the award. The deadline for submission is 1 April 2017.
Submission details follow below.

Nominations can be submitted from 1 January 2017 and should be sent to the chair of the Jury, Anuj Dawar, by e-mail:

The Award

The 2017 Ackermann award will be presented to the recipient(s) at the annual conference of the EACSL, 20-24 August 2017, in Stockholm (Sweden).
The award consists of

  • a certificate,
  • an invitation to present the thesis at the CSL conference,
  • the publication of the laudatio in the CSL proceedings,
  • travel support to attend the conference.

The jury is entitled to give the award to more (or less) than one dissertation in a year.


The jury consists of:

  • Anuj Dawar (University of Cambridge), the president of EACSL;
  • Dale Miller (INRIA and Ecole Polytechnique), ACM SigLog representative;
  • Orna Kupferman (Hebrew University of Jerusalem);
  • Daniel Leivant (Indiana University, Bloomington);
  • Luke Ong (University of Oxford);
  • Jean-Eric Pin (CNRS and University of Paris 7);
  • Simona Ronchi Della Rocca (University of Torino), the vice-president of EACSL;
  • Thomas Schwentick (TU Dortmund).

How to submit

The candidate or his/her supervisor should submit

  1. the thesis (ps or pdf file);
  2. a detailed description (not longer than 20 pages) of the thesis in ENGLISH (ps or pdf file);
  3. a supporting letter by the PhD advisor and two supporting letters by other senior researchers (in English); supporting letters can also be sent directly to Anuj Dawar (;
  4. a short CV of the candidate;
  5. a copy of the document asserting that the thesis was accepted as a PhD thesis at a recognized University (or equivalent institution) and that the candidate has received his/her PhD within the specified period.

The submission should be sent by e-mail as attachments to the chairman of the jury, Anuj Dawar:
With the following subject line and text:

  • Subject: Ackermann Award Submission
  • Text: Name of candidate, list of attachments

Submission can be sent via several e-mail messages. If this is the case, please indicate it in the text. Letters of support and documents can also be faxed to:

Anuj Dawar
Ackermann Award
+44 1223 334678

The Jury has the right to declare submissions to be out of scope or not to meet the requirements.