The EACSL was founded on July 14th 1992, by computer scientists and logicians from 14 countries. The Association acts as an international professional non-profit organization.

Computer science logic is an interdisciplinary field between mathematical logic and computer science. The EACSL promotes computer science logic in the areas of scientific research and education. It supports both basic and application oriented research. The association also intends to advance the connections between basic research and industrial applications.

Each year the Association organizes the Conference on Computer Science Logic (CSL) and grants the Ackermann Award, for outstanding dissertations in Logic in Computer Science.

In evidence:

CSL 2018

Birmingham, September 4-7, 2018

Ackermann Award 2017

  • Amaury Pouly
    École Polytechnique (France) and the Universidade do Algarve (Portugal), in 2015, supervisors: Olivier Bournez and Daniel Graça.

    Continuous Models of Computation: From Computability to Complexity

The Jury consisted of Anuj Dawar (University of Cambridge), the president of EACSL, Orna Kupferman (Hebrew University of Jerusalem), Daniel Leivant (Indiana University, Bloomington), Dale Miller (INRIA Saclay), SigLog representative, Luke Ong (University of Oxford), Jean-Éric Pin (CNRS and Université Paris 7), Simona Ronchi della Rocca (University of Torino), the vice-president of EACSL,
Thomas Schwentick (TU Dortmund).

A detailed report is published in the CSL 2017 Proceedings.

The Award is sponsored by the association Alumni der Informatik Dortmund e.V.

Alonzo Church Award 2017

The 2017 Alonzo Church Award for Outstanding Contributions to Logic and Computation is given jointly to Samson Abramsky, Radha Jagadeesan, Pasquale Malacaria, Martin Hyland, Luke Ong, and Hanno Nickau for providing a fully-abstract semantics for higher-order computation through the introduction of game models, thereby fundamentally revolutionising the field of programming language semantics, and for the applied impact
of these models.